The Department of Medicine was founded in 1985 and first accepted students in the academic year 1990-1991. It is the first Department in the development of the School of Health Sciences of the University of Thessaly, it has been autonomous since 1995 and operates in Larissa.

The Department accepts about 100 students annually and the total number of active students is about 780 (with the documents of academic year 2017-2018). The graduates of the Department are 1084 (until 31.12.2017).

The facilities of the Department of Medicine, which include pre-clinical course laboratories, classrooms, an auditorium, administrative services, are located in the Department's new building in the Biopolis area, next to the University General Hospital of Larissa (PGNL) and in the building of the renovated former Katsigra Clinic, in Post Office Square.

The clinical units are located at the Larissa University General Hospital (

The application of modern technology and the creation of a modern Medical Library add new research and diagnostic activities to the already developed educational activities of the Department of Medicine. The students' clinical practice takes place at the University Hospital. Tel Center +30 2413 50 1000.